Peter Falk

I heard from an old high school friend of mine last night who we’ll call Miss G. She corrected me about my last post on two counts. People that have known you your whole life don’t ever cut you any slack.

1) Every girl in my junior class did not like Nick Nolte, as Miss G’s favorite actors were Alan Arkin and Michael Caine. Miss G, I left that third one out as I’m quite sure you didn’t wish to make him publicly known! [See title.] You always were mature for your age.

Perhaps at this juncture, I should confess that although I did think Peter Strauss was cute, I had at least two actresses that I fixated on during that time — Joan Hackett and Sandy Dennis. Odd choices, don’t you think? Joan Hackett was a great actress who had a gift for underplaying every scene — even when it called for intense emotion. A ruffian could be pistol whipping her man and she’d just whisper with a slight quiver, “I don’t think you should be doing that.” Sandy Dennis had a little bit of a stutter but that may have stemmed from playing opposite George and Martha in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? The last I saw of Sandy, she was in People magazine wearing a mumu, surrounded by 27 cats. But I still loved her.

joan

Joan, reacting to a murder

U1574077

Sandy & unknown cat

2) Back to my corrections! Miss G told me it wasn’t Ellen Barkin but rather an actress named Collette Blanigan. (I reckon that was her fifteen minutes of fame.) I must have been temporarily blinded and unable to distinguish between the two actresses. Here is a photo from that dark theater. See if you can tell whether it’s Ellen Barkin or not.

Surprise, surprise, surprise!

Surprise, surprise, surprise!

Published in: on February 9, 2009 at 5:45 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stackhats.wordpress.com/2009/02/09/peter-falk/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Just dropping by. Btw, your website has great content!

    ______________________________
    Who Else Wants To Discover A Rebel Psychiatrist’s Amazing Secret That Lets You Put People Under Your Control Quickly & Easily � and Get Them to Do Anything You Want?


Leave a Reply

